Eggless chocolate brownies


I’ve been on a quest to make a decent brownie without eggs. It’s been tricky…they’ve either turned out really flat or too dry and crumbly. But then I came across the ” (Gluten Free!) Black Bean Brownies That Don’t Suck” recipe over at Dinner with Julie, AND my sister-in-law sent me a black bean brownie recipe as well. Brilliant! Must be meant to bean. (OMG, I am so sorry). The beans add some much needed ‘heft’ to the eggless brownies I’d tried in the past that tended to just fall apart and since I don’t need to avoid gluten, I decided to play around with adding some flour as well for extra structure.

They don’t have a whole lot of sugar compared to other brownies and I even decided to use white whole wheat flour to see if they might possibly edge toward *gasp* healthy. Leaving out the eggs means you need to replace that liquid plus their binding property; plain yogurt, sour cream or buttermilk work well. One heaping tablespoon per egg. Adding baking powder allowed them to rise a little higher than without and voila! I think I’ve hit on something pretty good, but then I’ve never had a ‘real’ brownie for comparison. Let me know what you think if you make them.

Ok, Bob says they’re good. Especially with the chocolate chips stirred in. At his request, the rest of them are now tucked in tight waiting to be taken out of his reach. Hello annual girls’ XC-ski weekend!

Eggless Chocolate Brownies

1 19oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, melted
1/4 cup cocoa
2 tbsp buttermilk or sour cream or plain yogurt
2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
1/3 cup white whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325˙F.
Put the black beans, sugar, melted butter, cocoa, buttermilk, vanilla and salt into the bowl of a food processor. Pulse to combine initially, scraping down the sides. When well combined, let it go for a while, until quite smooth.  Measure out the flour and baking powder into a mixing bowl and go and check your e-mail for a few minutes while the food processor does its thing.

Pour pureed wet ingredients into the mixing bowl with the dry and stir well to combine. Stir in chocolate chips. Pour into a buttered (or sprayed, or tin foiled) 8″ X 8″ baking pan. (I used an oblong dish that was 10X5 because my square pan is 9X9 and is too big for this recipe). Bake for 25-30 min or until a toothpick comes out relatively clean (a few crumbs sticking is a good thing), but not wet. If you can, wait until they have cooled completely….

5 thoughts on “Eggless chocolate brownies

  1. Made these for Alex who’s an expert on eggless/nutless brownies and got a ‘best ever’ rating. Garry thought they were pretty good for ‘whatever’s not in them that’s usually in them’; even after I told him that had beans 🙂

  2. OMG, Garry’s comment is classic! I’m so glad Alex liked them. They’re really the easiest brownies to make if you have a food processor. I have a recipe for eggless zucchini brownies that are ok but very crumbly. I’ll try and combine the recipes and come up with an even healthier one.

Leave a Reply

