Hello Summer! Whole Grain Summer Berry Crisp

I changed my header photo. Like it? Strawberries from my garden, blueberries from the store. Well…that’s not technically true. The strawberries are really from Bob’s garden. He deserves all the credit. I’ve been so lazy this season and haven’t really done much gardening at all (I’m guessing that armchair/backseat gardening doesn’t count).

So with all of these amazing berries staring at me how could I not make a dessert? I mean, Evan likes the crisp part of apple crisp, so this might be a good way to get him to start eating berries. Right? Bob rolled his eyes. “Yeah, you keep telling yourself that.”

Okay fine, whatever. I made it because I wanted it. But I truly did have hopes that Evan would try some. I did make it small. And whole grain. And not a huge amount of butter or sugar.

And Evan didn’t eat any of it. But it was f*cking awesome. Every last bit of it.

Whole Grain Summer Berry Crisp
This is dead simple. Layer the berries in the bottom of the pan. Add a splash of orange juice. If they’re not as sweet as you like, you can sprinkle with sugar to taste. Cover with the topping, dot with butter and bake at 350ºF until bubbly.

2 cups 5 grain rolled hot cereal (or rolled oats if you prefer)
1 cup brown sugar
1 tbsp all purpose flour
2 cups mixed berries
splash of orange juice

16 thoughts on “Hello Summer! Whole Grain Summer Berry Crisp

      • Lisa,
        It is! And apparently, there are 4 women for a man… funny what a place can be known for, no?
        Le Clown

  1. Last summer, my kids and I vacationed with my sister’s family in a house on Lake Michigan. We went to the farmer’s market every day for fresh fruit–berries, plums, peaches–and made a “crisp” every night. Thanks for the reminder of lazy summer days!

    • Yup, sure you can. It will keep the topping a bit chewier than if you use quick cook oats. But I like that in a crisp. Also most recipes use about a 1:1 ratio of oats/cereal to brown sugar and at least 1/2 cup butter but I was trying to keep this recipe lower fat and sugar. Experiment. If its not sweet enough, throw some vanilla ice cream on it! Can’t go wrong.

  2. Whaddya mean Evan doesn’t like the crisp part?? Its the best!! I used to give my daughter fruit crisp for breakfast and it was always one of our little guilty pleasures! Why not?? It has to better than any old breakfast cereal afterall. Yummm to crisps!

Leave a Reply

