Tomato and White Bean Salad

I’ve been waiting for months to make this salad again. Waiting for fresh tomatoes and sweet onions from the garden, basil from the pot on my front step…finally I couldn’t wait any longer. If I waited for my own tomatoes it would be late August before this came to be so we made do. Bob bought some unbelievable cherry tomatoes…so pretty!

These are not from my garden!

But this onion did come from our backyard. The first year growing them and we lucked out. They are very mild and perfect for eating in salad. (Try a slice of sharp cheddar cheese with a small slice of mild onion on top. It’s one of the best flavour combos).

I think this photo is really cool. Love Instagram! Doesn’t this kind of look like it belongs in a film noir or something?

This salad should work as a main source of protein for the vegan/vegetarians and as a really great side dish for the carnivores. On its own with some bread (or not), it makes a perfect lunch, outside, feet up, with a good book. It doesn’t really work for Evan, who hasn’t decided he’s going to try fresh tomato, nor beans, let alone all mixed up in the same bowl! Plus there are “bits of green” in it, which crosses it off his list immediately. So we ate this salad with some flank steak and quinoa. Bob The Veg ate the quinoa and salad, Selective Evan had quinoa and steak and I happily enjoyed all three. One meal, three ways.

Tomato and White Bean Salad
We were in a hurry when I made this salad and completely forgot to make a vinaigrette but it didn’t need it in the end. If you want one, drizzle some olive oil and vinegar. Use a mild vinegar like champagne vinegar or rice vinegar.

1 can small white beans
1 cup cherry tomatoes, quartered or larger tomato diced small
1/2 cup diced mild onion
1/2 cup basil, sliced in ribbons
coarse salt and pepper to taste

8 thoughts on “Tomato and White Bean Salad

  1. Lisa,
    Miam. Did you ever receive my picture of Shaika on Facebook? We took it especially for you…
    Le Clown

    • Do you mean the Shaika Cafe? I saw it on Laments and Lullabies (and commented) –wish I knew how to make a url link in a comment or I’d link to your awesome wife’s blog– but didn’t see it on FB. It rocked my world. I hauled my hubby over to the screen and said “Look, it’s our corner!!!” 15 years ago it would have been us sitting in that cafe. Neither of us could recall exactly what was on that corner at the time tho’. But i recognized the building immediately and went to their website to confirm the address and it’s indeed in our old apartment building. Bummer nothing has become of the old movie theatre yet. So honoured you guys thought of me, Le Clown.

    • Go to town! Doesn’t matter if they’re homegrown. I’m loving little white beans these days. Yesterday we tossed them with avocado, mild onion, some leftover roasted beets and some crumbled goat cheese. Plus balsamic! Heaven. If I can get a decent looking photograph I might post about that too. You should ask your otherworldly friends if they have/had any favourite dishes and we could do a cross post!

Leave a comment